What is your Superman move and accompanying soundtrack?

I’ll never forget it… In fact, I remember it like it was yesterday.

Imagine this if you will.. 30 professionals tucked into a side room of a restaurant for an early morning meeting

I had just presented on strategic networking skills, how it spills over into social media and networking do’s and don’ts… The last speaker had just started his presentation on productivity tips and business skills… About 10 minutes into his engaging presentation, he started talking about the importance of having a power move to help bring forth your inner power and emotional strength, especially crucial before going into business meetings…

When I least expected it, in the quiet of that 7 AM meeting, the speaker positioned him so that he was semi-crouching, and hit his chest and in one fell swoop, brought his arms in a semi-circle  to his hips and then shot his arms out forward in a Superman-swoosh… THAT was his power move… And believe me, we all felt it. His demeanor instantly changed and so did the room.

Do you have a Superman move? What about a few songs that really make you feel good? Do you listen to them before you go to a meeting? These are all important things to help YOU stand apart from the others at events… Why? Because people don’t always remember what you do but they remember how you made them feel. If you are in a great mood, that will reflect in how you interact  and like-minded people will be drawn to you – like attracts like, that’s a fact!

In closing, I’ll tell you my power songs. These help me ease my pre-networking event jitters… And yes, I STILL get jitters before an event. I AM human! 

  • Gwen Stefani – What You Waiting For
  • Anything Def Leppard
  • Depeche Mode – Stripped
  • Well, Anything Depeche Mode really!
  • The Cars – Hello Again
  • September – Cry for you
  • Coldplay – Clocks
  • This list is by no means all inclusive… !

And lastly… I am proud to say that I’ve adopted and adapted The Superman Move… If you don’t have a “move”, try it out. You’d be amazed at what it can do for you! If it doesn’t empower you, minimally you’ll get a good laugh and we all know how useful that endorphin and serotonin rush is  be right before meeting strangers.

9 responses to “What is your Superman move and accompanying soundtrack?

  1. Pingback: Twitter Trackbacks for What is your Superman move and accompanying soundtrack? « Lessons in business networking from the field.. [tarynp.wordpress.com] on Topsy.com

  2. I don’t use this for events – I use this whenever I need it. If I’m sad or glum, listening to really depressing songs like Eleanor Rigby by the Beatles, the first Evanescence album, or the first Flyleaf album, cheers me up. My life isn’t that bad. Schadenfreude at its best. 🙂

  3. Currently experiencing Kryptonite like forces from the DJ, so quick answer…

    Current Power songs:

    Lady Sovereign- Love Me or Hate Me

    P!NK- Rockstar

    The DJ AM + Travis Barker Coachella set- Track #10 mainly, but the whole set has changed my life

    Black Eyed Peas- Pump It (and the entire Monkey Business LP)

    Music makes me lost control- Missy Elliot

    Ok. I could go on all day…

  4. Saw a tweet you made… came to your blog… what a great first impression you made! What your highlighting is the importance of “state.” I’d guess over 95% of the people in the world just bounce through life, REACTING to events, meetings, fate etc. without realizing they can ACT and effect their results. Tony Robbins has made millions pointing out the importance of this because it’s true… your results improve when you control your state. Whether it’s with music, physical gestures or scent… you CAN put yourself in a better state to achieve what you want… obviously, I like your post ;=)

    I look forward to reading more…

  5. Depends on the day, but sometimes it’s gotta be White Zombie, sometimes it’s gotta be Sting, sometimes it’s gotta be Steely Dan! When I need the power boost, it’s metal or something hardcore and power jamming (Zombie). When I need to be grounded, it’s a mellow tune (Sting). When I need to keep the fire lit, it’s something “cool” (Steely). This list too, is not all inclusive.

  6. This is a great idea! I don’t think I can use music though because I like mellow rock with thought provoking lyrics. Do super hero’s actually work? I was thinking more of actual people who are great role models. Am I missing the point?

  7. Hi Taryn,

    What an interesting concept! I think we all approach these things differently, depending on what moves us.

    I don’t know that I’d say I have a “Superman move” but I most definitely use a visualization technique as I prepare to give a presentation, speech, or lead a training session.

    By that I mean that I visualize it going well. Incredibly well. Far better than I could ever expect that it would. The audience is engaged and I am as confident and competent as I could ever be whether on stage or in front of the room.

    And you know what? It works every. single. time.

    I learned that very early in my career and I’m forever grateful for it. I think the key is that it builds confidence and a sense of calm, and allows me to focus on my message rather than all the other “stuff.”

    Thanks for a thoughtful and insightful post!

    I look forward to reading more from you.

    Stephanie

  8. The Touch – Stan Bush, not Dirk Diggler
    You’re the Best – Joe Esposito

    Hey, they help 😉

  9. What a great article! I feature a Hero Theme Song of the day on my Twitter @auraleigh…haven’t done it in awhile and you’ve just inspired me to start again. Thank you, Taryn!

Leave a Reply

