Bloggers need to network, too.

This past weekend, I attended IZEAFEST in Orlando… The content of this social media bonanza was fantastic. There were speakers such as Liz Strauss, Zena Weist, Joseph Jaffe, Chris Brogan, Ted Murphy, PR Sarah Evans and more.

But there was one thing noticabably lacking – networking.

Don’t get me wrong, there was lots of socializing…  however, by definition, networking is the cultivation of productive relationships for employment or business.. (Merriam-Webster)


One thing that I couldn’t help but notice was how many people downplayed what they “did” and often times didn’t even know how to explain it and therefore truly limited their ability to be productive.

Let me share with you an actual conversation I had with someone. I am confident this will illustrate my point.

Me: so… what do you do?

Them: Producer

Me: You’re a producer of what

Them: Content

Me: What kind of content?

Them: blogs

Me: Ah, what are your blogs about?

Them: Stuff, whatever I feel like.

Me: …. ?!?

Do you see the problem with that conversation? They lost their chance to earn a new reader or subscriber. In addition, based on their reply, I could have told my friends about their blog if they had minimally told me what even ONE blog was about… And if I would have liked what I saw, I might have gone online and promoted their blog to my communities….

I cannot count how many similar conversations I had like that over the weekend. I’m always looking to see how I can help someone gain better visibility and connect them with someone valueable. However, when I am faced with replies such as that, it makes being a valuable resource very difficult.

Therefore, I present you with the top 3 networking tips for bloggers:

1 – Just because you have a succesful blog doesn’t mean that I know it. Inform me! Give me some background information!

2 – Just because you have multiple blogs doesn’t mean you shouldn’t tell me about any of them. Choose 1-2 of your current blogs and tell me what they are about.

3 – Don’t assume that people know industry jargon such as content producer. Nothing is worse than making the person you are talking to feel dumb or have to pull information out of you. If you want readers, you need to market to people when networking just like you do online.

Have you had a similar situation?

14 responses to “Bloggers need to network, too.

  1. Great post, Taryn. Love the three tips you provided.

  2. Taryn,

    Thanks for this post we all have done this at one time or another, but when attending an event you definitely should know what your going to say about your business.

    I would say to those who are nervous remember everyone is nervous at an event you just have to take the first step and say “Hi”

    Great tips, thanks Taryn

  3. Guilty as charged.

    When the student is ready the teacher will appear. I needed this TODAY.

    Thanks teacher.

    -RB

  4. Great stuff – thanks for sharing!

  5. Pingback: Bloggers need to network, too. « Lessons in business networking … | skyhighbni

  6. I SO did this just today! I attended my Chamber network luncheon, (to network, right?) and when asked what my business was…I froze and mumbled. I am SO much better online. Now, I kick myself, and come back to re-read. Thanks for posting this Taryn!

  7. If a blogger has multiple blogs, s/he can also ask YOU what YOU do, what YOU’RE interested in and see if s/he can pull up the appropriate recommendation! 🙂

  8. Super tips, thanks from some one who keeps trying and won’t give up!

  9. Excellent information. I’m certainly not as outgoing as I probably ought to be, but I have become experienced at networking if nothing else, and through trial and error have crafted the intro, 30-sec, and 1 min spiel about my business. And once I became comfortable spilling my business guts in that way, it’s pretty easy to answer that looming question – What do you do? – without choking.

  10. Sounds like “they” are spending too much time in front of the computer. 🙂 Can’t remember how to talk to real people. That’s an easy rut to get into. Great tips. #3 is one of my biggest pet peeves. Please, please people understand what terms in your vocab are industry jargon and don’t use them when talking to the regular folks.

  11. great tips. I was at IZEAfest and new to blogging so I will definitely keep these in mind.
    thanks Susan

  12. This is why I carry around business cards for the blog. Great tips!

  13. These are excellent tips! Thanks for posting.

  14. Great post, I hate when people do that, they make you feel low and stupid, I myself, am very quite (but I’m working on overcoming that) but when someone does come up to me and ask me question, especially about social media, the quite side disappears, and I try and explain my blog as much as possible as well as promote friends of mine. No one should talk down to anyone, treat everyone like a bridge. You never know when you may need that bridge or they may need you.

Leave a Reply

